Member / Vendor Login


Type of Location:
About Location


Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Train

At the railway Bruck an der Mur-Leoben Leoben is located is an important hub for rail traffic.Here the branches Erzbergbahn after Hieflau from the passenger runs but no longer regular. Leoben's maintenance system of intercity lines Vienna - Villach and Graz - Bischofshofen - Salzburg / Innsbruck.However, will commence in the year 2022 the long-distance trains Vienna - Klagenfurt - Villach over the Koralmbahn be performed and therefore no longer come to Leoben.The last direct train to Linz were adjusted with the timetable change in December 2010.

By Road

Leoben is located at the Semmering expressway S6 and on the road Leobener B116 and is about a few kilometers long B115a with the iron road connected B115.

By Bus

Between 1949 and 1973 revealed the Leoben trolley bus from the main lines on urban transport, he was replaced by buses.

Key places to visit
Leoben Theatre, St. James church, St. Xavier Church, Redemptoristenkolleg Leoben, New City Hall and Exhibition Centre, Mushroom Tower


Places to Visit

Leoben Theatre

is the oldest continuously recorded theater in Austria.Already in the 18th Century there were in Leoben plans to build its own civic theater.Finally, in 1790 two houses were used in the Homanngasse 5 as theater.The present building was built around 1850 as a classicist, two-story building.The auditorium was modernized 1965th The theater contains 283 seats and 105 standing places.

St. James church

the former Roman Catholic parish church in Leoben, now known as rector of the parish church of St. Xavier is assumed.The first church of the surrounding settlement Leoben Although first mentioned in 1188, her age is certainly higher.On 2 August 1188 was the "capella" St. James of Duke Ottokar IV of the Admont incorporated.Since the Middle Ages, a parish divided between the owners or the economic strength of the surrounding area also a good source of material income for the pastor was could also be created with special supply items for the award of such benefice minions.It is this right of patronage of St. James was formed by centuries a source of contention between Admont, the Archdiocese of Salzburg, Styria, the Duke and the town of Leoben.St. James was particularly rewarding because it was flourishing in the iron market.The wealthy people had become the church gifts and donations coming in large numbers.In the newly created city does not own parish was founded.There were churches - Dominican Church, Chapel and St. John's Jesuit church of St. Xavier - but the parochial church service was held in St. James outside the city walls instead.

St. Xavier Church

St. Xavier at Leoben, today's Roman Catholic parish church and former Jesuit church in Leoben.The present parish church of St. Francis Xavier (Francisco de Xavier y Jassu called) dominated with her powerful structure for more than three centuries, all the other buildings in the town of Leoben.Her magnificent interior is since the 17th Century remained almost unchanged.It was built from 1660-1665, 1773 after the dissolution of the Jesuit Order, no longer used and 1811 declared the official parish church.That the building has remained in its original early Baroque style and get with the simultaneous establishment may be due to its magnificent design and size to modernize both the late Baroque and 19th in the purist Century due to financial reasons prevented.

Redemptoristenkolleg Leoben

is a monastery of the Redemptorists in Leoben in Styria.In 1834 the establishment of a Redemptorist hospice was in Leoben.The revolution of 1848 led to the abolition of the religious community the monks returned in 1853 and carried on before the construction started a church and monastery so that on 9 November 1854, the monastery church dedicated to St. Alfonso could be obtained.The monastery served as a mission house and retreat center and temporarily housed the novitiates of the Redemptorists.The future of the church is not yet final.With the diocese and the city of Leoben should be drawn up in 2011 under contracts.A Kustus for the administration of the church is first used.The Diocese of Graz-Seckau has sent a chaplain in the deanery of Leoben this will protrude from the beginning of November twice weekly worship services at St. Alphonsus Church on Wednesday and Saturday morning (with worship).P. Anton Kendol is the future of Vienna from the connection with the Friends of the Redemptorists as well as the third Order is maintained at the monastery church.

New City Hall and Exhibition Centre

The new City Hall was built in 1973 north of the Mur promenade of the city tower as a modern office building.In 1997, on the occasion of the Styrian Provincial Exhibition the addition of an exhibition area designed by Gunther Domenig.This is also the connection to the old museum building.The museum houses a permanent exhibition on the history of Leoben is located (emphasis: history, activity of the Jesuit Order in Leoben and the time of the wars against France).The exhibition center has annually changing exhibitions on ethnological topics in cooperation with the Reiss-Engelhorn Museums in Mannheim held.

Mushroom Tower

The mushroom is a tower about 30 meters high, a medieval tower in the town of Leoben in the Austrian province of Styria.He was part of the former fortress is still the only surviving city gate and is the symbol of Leoben dar.The popular name of structure arises from the similarity of its hemispherical dome with a fungus.The actual name is toll tower.The mushroom tower is located west of the main square Leobner on the road in the district Waasen on the right bank of the River Mur.On the side facing away from the inner city there is an inscription which reflects the history of the tower in poem form and the figure of a double eagle.On the side facing the inner city is the city of Leoben crest and the image of the current Austrian eagle.

Right Time to Visit

April - October
December - March


Information not available


View Map