Member / Vendor Login



Turda

Country
Romania
State
Cluj
City
Turda
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Advertisement



Places to Visit
How to Reach

By air

Nearest airports to Turda are sorted by the distance to the airport from the city centre.
   
   Cluj Napoca Airport (distanced approximately 25 km)
   Tirgu Mures Airport (distanced approximately 49 km)
   Havadarya Airport (distanced approximately 81 km)
   Sibiu Airport (distanced approximately 90 km)
   Devar Airport (distanced approximately 100 km)

Key places to visit
Roman Catholic Church in Turda, Fortress Trascau, Turda Zoo, Waterfall Ciucas, Court of Turda, City of Turda, Princely Palace of Turda, Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Old, Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Nine, Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Glade, Unitarian Churc


Advertisement


Places to Visit

Roman Catholic Church in Turda

The current Roman Catholic Church (in Hungarian a Roma katolikus Templom) of Turda was built between 1475 - 1504, the site of a church older, already documented in 1342. Church is stated on the historical monuments in Cluj County, prepared by the Ministry of Culture of Romania in 2004 (code LMI 2004 CJ-II-mA-07800).
Address: Republic Square no.54.

Fortress Trascau

Trascau city (in the second half of the twentieth century fortress called Coltesti in Hungarian Torockovar) west of the village Coltesti (in Hungarian Torockoszentgyorgy, the German Sankt Georgen) and about 5 km southwest of common Rimetea (in Hungarian Torocko in German Eisenburg), Alba county, was built in the late 1296 subvoievodul Thoroczkay of Trascau that inhabited fortress and refuge.

Turda Zoo

The zoo was founded in Turda in 1953 and occupies an area of 2.7 ha. The park was originally equipped with 368 animals, including 12 exotic and native rest, now reaching about 400 animals and 1,300 exotic fish, with 18 employees, a veterinarian, a veterinary technician and carers. According to the pre-Zoo will be extended, especially for creating habitat for large carnivores: lions, tigers, bears and wolves. Owns an aquarium, a museum with stuffed birds and animals. In the area there is a botanical.

Waterfall Ciucas

Falls and Lake Ciucas are natural attractions of local importance. They are on the lower Hasdate Valley, downstream of Turda Gorge, not far from the village Cornesti, south-west of Turda.
Waterfall Ciucas is only 5 m height and at its base is a small lake where the water accumulates valtoreste the waterfall.

Court of Turda

Construction of the former City Hall building, then seat of the Tribunal, then Court Turda, Republic Square no. 5, took place between 1795-1806, using only shaped stones brought from the Roman camp Potaissa the "Hill City". The floors can still be seen today bricks bearing the inscription outlined LVM ( Legion Macedonica ). The building was designed by architect self Kovesi Janos, who designed the building of the brewery in Turda and wooden bridge over Aries.

City of Turda

City of Turda  was built between 1884-1886 in Neo-Renaissance style (neo-Renaissance) and was originally located prefecture -Turda County Aries. Former Prefect of Turda (now City Hall) is stated on the historical monuments in Cluj County, prepared by the Ministry of Culture of Romania in 2010

Princely Palace of Turda

Princely Palace of Turda (princely residence, today the Museum of History) is the most valuable objects of culture and medieval architecture of Turda (street Hasdeu 2). It is known as the Salt Camara (probably the original destination of the building), Curia House Revenue, House Fiscal Princely House, Princes House, Baron Palace, Mansion House Princely and Bathory. He was the former residence of Transylvania Prince Sigismund Bathory (1581-1597 and 1599-1602). It was actually originally intended for Salt Customs in Turda.

Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Old

Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Old, the oldest preserved monument in Turda, is located in the center  in the vicinity of the Republic, stoning and former Princely Palace (now the Museum of History). The building was built in the early fifteenth century, the Emperor Sigismund of Luxembourg (1387-1437), also ruler of the Kingdom of Hungary, the site of a more ancient church. Until 1564, the year of introduction of the Protestant Reformation in Turda was the Roman Catholic Church

Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Nine

Calvin Reformed Church of New Turda (in Hungarian Ujtordai Reformatus Templom) was built between 1500 to 1504, place an old church and built in the period 1311-1340 (the first church is mentioned in documents of the fourteenth century century).

Calvin Reformed Church in Turda-Glade

Calvin Reformed Church in Turda, district Glade, built in the fifteenth century, is stated on the historical monuments in Cluj County, prepared by the Ministry of Culture of Romania in 2004 (code CJ -II-mB-07790).The centerpiece is a stone engraved text "RENOVATU 1789", when the church was renovated.

Unitarian Church of Turda-Old

Unitarian Church in Turda is a historical and architectural monument located in the city of Turda. Community Unitarian Turda in 1721 after she had been forced to return the Roman Catholic church in the city center (which in 1568 had taken a turn for the Roman Catholic), introduced a collection of money to build their own churches Unitarian. The objective of the community was made 60 years later.

Ratesti Church of Turda

Turda Ratesti Church (St. George Lazarus 17-19), dedicated "Assumption" is a church built by the efforts archpriest Greek Catholic Basil Ratiu in 1839. The work was financed by the Ratiu family, a prominent Romanian families of Turda. The name evokes family church founders (Ratiu).

Between Romanian Church

Between Romanian church, called Church Of Romanian, is the oldest Orthodox church in Turda. In 1861 the old Church in Romanian was crazy and burned down. Between 1861-1865 Orthodox Metropolitan Andrei Saguna establish a public collection, with which to built a new stone church in the district between Romanian, on land near the ravine Aries.

Orthodox Cathedral of Turda

Orthodox Cathedral in Turda (Sf.Arhangheli dedicated to Michael and Gabriel) is located on St. Andrei Saguna No. 2 with the main entrance oriented to market December 1, 1918. It was erected in memory of the great prince Michael the Brave of enterprises Eremia General Tiberius, after architect John Traianescu. Work was possible due to donations from Bank Arieseana, Society Orthodox women, companies and individuals. Architecture is a combination of styles characteristic of the three Romanian historical provinces. Plan is in traditional form of cross. Sfiintirea Cathedral was done on November 3, 1935 by Lucian Triteanu the Roman bishop. In 1955 was declared munument architecture, is one of the architectural jewels of the city

sovagailor Church of Turda

sovagailor Church ("Church Salt cutter") dedicated to the Holy Trinity is located in Turda, Dorobanti Street no. 1, corner of street salt, on a relatively easily accessible faithful miners of yesteryear. She suffered many changes over time.

Synagogue in Turda

Turda synagogue is a place of worship in the city Hebrew Turda ( Cluj County ), located on Mihai Eminescu Street No.24-28. It was built between 1921 - 1926. Turda synagogue was built between 1921-1926. Before the current building synagogues, in this place there was another synagogue or community meeting house.
 

Right Time to Visit

March - May

Temperature