Member / Vendor Login


Type of Location
About Location


Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Air

Airports nearest to Rheinfelden are sorted by the distance to the airport from the city centre.

Herten Rheinfelden Airport (distanced approximately 1.3 km)
Fricktal-Schupfart Airport (distanced approximately 13 km)
Basel/mulhouse Basel Bad - Railway Airport (distanced approximately 15 km)
Basle-Mulhouse Airport (distanced approximately 20 km)
Mulhouse/basel Euroairport Basel Mulhouse Freiburg Airport (distanced approximately 20 km)

By Train

The train station in Rheinfelden is located on the Bozbergstrecke between Basel and Zurich and is a fast train stop.Moreover where it is the line of the S1 S-Bahn Regio Basel of the Mulhouse via Basel to Frick and Laufenburg wrong.Since the timetable change 2008/09, the S-Bahn trains operate in the district Augarten another breakpoint.

By Bus

The public transport network of Rheinfelden is part of the Tariff Association of Northwestern Switzerland (TNW) which covers the entire greater region of Basel.At the train station is the terminus of the bus lines to Mohlin and Gelterkinden via Magden a bus route and the AAGL to Kaiseraugst.The AAGL operates two city bus lines, the SBG is a cross-border bus to Rheinfelden (Baden).In the nights from Friday to Saturday and from Saturday to Sunday Rheinfelden through the night-train SN1 (Basel Mohlin) and the N65 night bus (Rheinfelden-Gelterkinden) of TNW-night network is developed.

By Road

Through the community runs the main road 3 between Basel and Zurich.Another important road leads to Gelterkinden.Three bridges including the Rhine bridge fields and the Old Rhine bridge leading over the Rhine to Rheinfelden (Baden).Two of them are approved only for pedestrians or cyclists.At the southern edge of town is a junction of the motorway A3.On 7 March 2006 was the 4.6-kilometer-long A861 opens.It begins at the border to Kaiseraugst, crossed the Rhine and leads to the A98 to Germany.

Key places to visit
Fricktaler museum, Old bridge over the Rhine, Diameter tower, Upper Gate Tower, Sebastiani Rheinfelden


Places to Visit

Fricktaler museum

Next to City Hall is the Fricktaler museum on the history of the Fricktal is specialized and has many exhibits from prehistory and early history, medieval and modern times.At the eastern end of the market street of Albert Square with the fountain in the middle of Albrecht.The fountain figure, a standard-bearer to Duke Albrecht VI.represent.The St.Martin's Church in the western part of town was first mentioned in 1146th From 1228 to 1870 she was monastery in 1876 this was the first Old Catholic bishop consecrated in Switzerland.

Old bridge over the Rhine

The old bridge over the Rhine used the island as a natural bridgehead and therefore consists of two parts which are arranged at an angle of about 35 degree to each other.The northern part in 1897 burned down completely and was replaced by a new building.On the island were once a castle and a fortress artillery of both buildings is not preserved.In Friedrich Schiller's play Wilhelm Tell is "to the Rhine Palatinate area of the Emperor" the ruined castle "stone" meant that at times was the residence of the Habsburg rulers were.

Diameter tower

The diameter tower with its characteristic pointed hood is to the north-eastern end of the city wall to the Rhine.The floor plan of the 15th from the -Century tower is triangular with one corner protruding into the river.The name comes from the knives which were once used in the torture chamber.The Stork's Tower, formerly "Copper Tower" called is the eastern gate.There are two passages one was intended for horse-drawn vehicles the other for pedestrians.The wall of the locking slots are still visible today.

Upper Gate Tower

Under the Upper Gate Tower is the southern gate.While the base is from the Middle Ages, the superstructure was built with the bell tower in the 17th Century.The clock tower is going on for centuries seven minutes.Previously the gates were closed at night by five clock.The clock struck too early so that the farmers out in the fields had sufficient time to return to the city.The Hermannstor in the southwest and the northwest Rheintor were destroyed in 1745 by French troops.

Sebastiani Rheinfelden

every year at Christmas time celebrating the traditions of singing fountain, which attracts numerous visitors from the surrounding area.As early as 1146, 1347 and 1439 Rheinfelden was hit by plague.It was feared then that the devastating disease would be transmitted through water and protected the wells with precise rules.The Sebastiani was founded as Pestbruderschaft in solidarity with the sick and she used to bury the dead.Both are highly dangerous enterprise, because the infection was almost inevitable.The extent of the plague in 1541 moved twelve men to form the Sebastiani and introduce a Christmas and New Year's custom is still practiced today.The name of the fraternity is due to the St.Sebastian who is a protector against the plague.

Right Time to Visit

January - May