Member / Vendor Login



Queanbeyan

Country
Australia
State
New South Wales
City
Queanbeyan
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Advertisement



Places to Visit
How to Reach

By car

from Sydney or Melbourne follow the signs to Canberra, and then turn off to Queanbeyan shortly before arriving. Driving from Sydney it is not necessary to go through Canberra at all.

By plane

Canberra airport is as close to Queanbeyan as it is to Canberra

By Train

The Canberra to Sydney countrylink train stops at Queanbeyan twice daily in each direction.

Key places to visit
Queanbeyan Whites , Queanbeyan Museum, Queanbeyan Park, Christ Church, Methodist Church


Advertisement


Places to Visit

Queanbeyan Whites

Rugby team play at 'Campese Oval'. The Whites are the current title holders of the John I Dent ACT Rugby championship. The 2008 First Grade squad includes the electric Josh Hasting, dynamo flyhalf Johan Kevin and the prolific Henri Seavula. The Whites are renowned locally for expansive running rugby and are ably coached by New Zealander Glen Christina. Former players include Wallaby Great David Campese, Australia's highest paid player Matt Giteau, Scottish International Dave Muir and James Wark.

Queanbeyan Museum

Over the road from the information centre is the Queanbeyan Museum which is housed within the old police sergeant's residence (1876). There is a medical exhibit, a machinery shed, a period bedroom, a clothing collection, a kitchenware exhibit and blacksmith's display.

Queanbeyan Park

Behind the museum is Queanbeyan Park, which was dedicated in 1893 although exotic trees had been planted here as early as 1870. It retains a few surviving examples of the old cast-iron lamp stands which were once found throughout town. There are barbecues, toilets, sports grounds and a childrens' playground.

Christ Church

At Collett and Rutledge is Christ Church. The original Anglican church and rectory were built here in 1843. The present structure dates from 1859-60 although the original stone schoolhouse (1843) remains behind the church. The stables also date from 1843 and the brick schoolhouse from 1865. The main part of the rectory dates from the early 1870s.

Methodist Church

Turn left into Rutledge St. Just past Crawford St, to the left, is the former Methodist (now Uniting) Church, the earliest section of which dates back to 1859.


 

 
Right Time to Visit

January - April
October - December

Temperature