Member / Vendor Login

Old Cairo

Muhafazat Misr
Old Cairo
Type of Location
About Location


Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Metro

The Metro train is by far the easiest mode of travel into this district. Mar Girgis station is located immediately outside the Coptic Cairo quarter. From Midan Tahrir in central Cairo, take the Metro south to Mar Girgis - the fare costs 1 LE and trains run every few minutes.

Key places to visit
Mosque of Amr ibn al-As, Ben Ezra Synagogue, Coptic Museum, Hanging Church, Church and Monastery of St George


Places to Visit

Mosque of Amr ibn al-As

Midan Amr ibn al-As (off of Sharia Mar Girgis, and walking distance from the Mar Girgis metro station). Open daily to non-Muslims, with the exception of prayer time. The Mosque of Amr ibn al-As was originally built (in Fustat) in 642, as Cairo's first mosque, following the Arab conquest of Egypt. The mosque was rebuilt in 673 by Mu'awiya. The mosque was rebuilt again in 1179 under the rule of Saladin, after expelling the Crusaders.

Ben Ezra Synagogue

Egypt's oldest surviving synagogue, dating to the 9th century and housed in a former church constructed in the 4th century. The synagogue was established in 1115, in what was previously a Coptic church, when the Copts were forced to sell it to raise funds to pay taxes to Ibn Tulun.The famed Geniza Documents, discovered in the synagogue basement, are of great interest to modern scholars of the medeival period in Egypt.

Coptic Museum

Sharia Mar Girgis, Open on LE 40 (students LE 20)daily 9AM - 5PM. Established in 1908 and recently restored to a high standard, the Coptic Museum houses Coptic art and artifacts from Late Antiquity, from the late Roman empire through to the Islamic era and beyond. The presentation is clear in English, French and Arabic with generally well thought out lighting. The display of mainly stone architectural fragments on the ground floor shows the development of the early fusion between Christian and Egyptian symbolism.

Hanging Church

Sharia Mar Girgis. In Arabic, Kineeset al-Muallaqa. The Hanging Church, built in 690, is situated on two bastions of the Roman fortress and its nave is suspended over a passageway. 

Church and Monastery of St George

Mar Girgis St. The Church is open to the public daily from 9AM - 5PM, however the monastery is not open to the public. The Church of St. George dates to the 10th century or earlier. However, the current structure on the site was built in the early 20th century, having been rebuilt after a 1904 fire.

Right Time to Visit

January - March
October - December