Member / Vendor Login



Lutsk

Country
Ukraine
State
Volyn Oblast
City
Lutsk
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Advertisement



Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Air

Lutsk Airport also given as Lutsk Southeast (IATA: UCK, ICAO: UKLC) is an airport in Volyn Oblast, Ukraine located 14 km southeast of Lutsk.It handles small aircraft.

By Bus

In the city runs a shuttle bus and trolley.Lutsk trolley a kind of public transportation in the city of Lutsk.Trolleybus motion opened in 1972 year, designed since 1965 year.Since 2006, began a partial update trolleybus park.At the end of 2011 the existing 68 machines.In March 2009 there were two trolley Bogdan E231: (No. 208 and 209).In November 2009, (13-30 November) there was a strike of employees of Lutsk electric company.Within 18 days without obhodylosya city trolley.4 November 2009 the price of tickets increased to 1 hryvnia.

Key places to visit
Lubart's Castle, Museum of Volyn Icon, Pharmacy Museum, Festival of Music and Art, Folklore Festivals, Volyn Museum, Lutheran church


Advertisement


Places to Visit

Lubart's Castle

began its life in the mid-14th century as the fortified seat of Gediminas son Liubartas (Lubart), the last ruler of united Galicia-Volhynia. It is the most prominent landmark of Lutsk, Ukraine and as such appears on the 200 hryvnia bill.Another city castle built by the Czartoryski family starting from the 14th century, is now a ruin.The Kievan town of Luchesk had a wooden wall as early as 1075, when Boleslaw the Brave laid siege to it for six months.Yury Dolgoruky failed to take Lutsk after a six-weeks siege in 1149.In 1255, the walls of Lutsk were stormed by Jochi's grandson Kuremsa.The current castle towering over the Styr River was built mostly in the 1340s, although some parts of the earlier walls were used. It repelled sieges by numerous potentates, including Casimir the Great (1349), Jogaila (1431) and Sigismund Kestutaitis (1436).It was there that the Lutsk Conference of 1429 took place attended by Emperor Sigismund, Vasily II of Moscow, Jogaila, Vytautas the Great, and the voivode of Wallachia.The walls of the castle formerly enclosed St. John's Cathedral the residence of the Grand Duke of Lithuania and an episcopal palace.Of these buildings only the Neoclassical palace of the bishops still stands.

Museum of Volyn Icon

is a Department of Volyn Regional Museum opened in August 1993.This is the only museum in Ukraine representing distinctive regional school Volyn iconography.Museum collection includes more than 1,5 thousand monuments of sacred art, namely more than 600 icons XVI-XIX centuries., Metal plastic objects (clothes, icons, church utensils, icons), decorative carvings ( royal gates, Kyoto icons) and sculpture.Create a collection associated with the name of a famous Ukrainian art Zholtovskoho Paul (1904-1986) who led the scientific expedition Volyn regional museum of the 1980s with the study and collection of historical and cultural monuments in the churches of Volyn.Priceless pearl collection is Chelm miraculous icon of Our Lady a unique monument of Byzantine art of XI-XII centuries.one of the most respected Christian shrines.The museum exhibits original designs decorative carvings and sculptures of Volyn XVIII century. Royal gates "Yeseya Tree" figurines of angels and saints.

Pharmacy Museum

located on the street Dragomanov, 11, on Market Square in the historical and cultural reserve "Old Town".While do not know exactly when in the first drugstores but in XVI century in Lutsk were several city and hospital pharmacies and on Market Square was six kiosks.Buildings is now located pharmacy museum, was built at the end of XVIII century.In 1845 she suffered a fire.Then the chemist -analyst Adam and his brother Peter Zlotski repaired the building and placed there a pharmacy. In the basement storage of medicines was pharmacies, laboratory.During the surface of - office holder, shopping center, residential premises.In the pharmacy were ancient Latin, Germa , Polish books on prescription drugs production as well as many equipment to manufacture drugs in the laboratory. When at the end of the nineteenth century family Kosachev of Ukrainian forests lived in the city some medications for her were made ​​in the pharmacy.While the pharmacist pharmacy was Hilyariy Chervinsky and then his wife Elena and the owner - Franciszek Zlotskyy.Pharmacy Museum is a one-story building with two-story cellars with cylindrical vaults.The main facade has three windows and entrance.It is decorated with wrought iron elements, bars on the windows, lamps.The windows have trim.The entire building perimeter framed cornices complex profile.Gable roof with a red metalocherepychnym coating. Along with the pharmacy are other old buildings market.

Festival of Music and Art

Very popular is also the festival of Up-FEST - Festival of Music and Art, one of the largest in Ukraine, a program which holds concerts on four stages, a large number of workshops of different directions, workshops, theater productions, movies and many other interesting events.Every year, Castle Lubart conducted Art show "Night in Lutsk castle" - the festival of the historical culture of medieval dances, music, cuisine and traditions.Near the city a festival of alternative music Bandershtat.Another very popular Ukrainian song festival in Lutsk - International Festival "The Svityaz waves", which takes place every summer at one of the largest Ukrainian lakes Svityaz and Lutsk.The aim of the festival - identify talented young performers, a combination of modern pop songs with folk customs and rituals. Participation - a song in Ukrainian.

Folklore Festivals

Lutsk - the center of trade routes that go to Europe, and this determines the development of art and culture. International festival of "summer folk" stands out for its broad geography and can be viewed as a business card of the city, a great event that brings together about 5,320 participants, including 58 foreign groups from 38 countries worldwide and 75 teams from Ukraine. Festival participants represent the traditional culture of their country. Since 1996 this festival because Ukraine is an official member of the International Council of Organizations for Folklore Festivals ( CIOFF ), which operates at UNESCO.

Volyn Museum

Volyn museum opened June 16, 1929 at the Society of ethnographers and protection of monuments of the past in Lutsk.1938 in four parts - nature prehistoric past, art, ethnography - there were 9,000 exhibits.In establishing the museum as a research institution played a significant role muzeoloh and ethnographer Prusevych Alexander (1878-1944), archaeologist Ian Fittske (1909-1940), botanist Stephen Matsko (1899-1967), Anatoly Dublyansky (1912-1997).In May 1940, at its base created Regional State Historical Museum. When the Great Patriotic War Museum managed to preserve and 11/02/1941, he resumed functioning. During the retreat of German invaders the museum were looted artifacts. June 17, 1944 Museum resumed work in new conditions.From 1958 to 1984 was placed on the street. Chopin, 7.Since 1985, the new exhibit significantly enhanced (32 rooms with area 2056 square meters.) Deployed in a renovated three-story house on the street. Chopin, 20 - the monument of architecture and history of 20-30s of the XX century.

Lutheran church

the Church was built in 1906, as a temple of Lutsk Lutheran community.Since its construction it served as one of the main temples of German colonists in Volyn.However, in connection with the events of World War II, declined.In Soviet times it belonged to various institutions, mainly the archive.With the collapse of the Union church was dedicated community of Baptists, duly restored building.Now it is a monument of architecture, whose silhouette is significant compositional and aesthetic place in the general background of Lutsk reserve.On the street Karaite in 1741, the began to build the church of St. Mary of the Order Carmelites.Founder spoke vendenskyy Anatoly Bazalskyy steward, who gave Carmelite Monastery village Borokh and 19,000 zlotys to build a church.After several years the church completed in Baroque style.Walls and ceiling were painted interior frescoes high master-work.Later in 1764 year Stanislav Volyn pidstoliy Manetskyy rebuilt the church after the fire.However in 1845, the church burned down again and was not renewed.Several decades stood desolate, even until it began to disassemble.

Right Time to Visit

March - July
October - February

Temperature