Member / Vendor Login

Plan My Trip

Kragujevac

Country
Serbia
State
Serbia(General)
City
Kragujevac
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Kragujevac is the fourth largest city in Serbia, the main city of the Šumadija region and the administrative centre of Šumadija District. It is situated on the banks of the Lepenica River. On the 2002 census, the city proper had 147,473 residents, while its metropolitan population was 175,252.
Kragujevac was the first capital of modern Serbia (1818–1839), and the first constitution in the Balkans was proclaimed in this city in 1835. Further on, the first full- fledged university in the newly independent Serbia was founded in 1838, preceded by the first grammar school (Gimnazija), Printworks (both in 1833), professional National theatre (1835) and the Military academy (1837)



Advertisement

How to Reach

By plane

There is no commercial airport in Kragujevac. The closest are located in Belgrade (150 km to the North) and Niš (150 to the South).

By bus

This is the most recommendable option when visiting Kragujevac. The drive from Belgrade lasts for 2 hours and tickets can be purchased at Belgrade's bus station for about 10 euros round trip. Center of the city is easily reachable from the central bus station in 10 minutes.

By train

Kragujevac can be also reached by train and the train station is located next to the central bus station. This mean of transport is, however, not recommendable, as it takes much more than by bus and there is not direct connection from Belgrade, so you would have to change train in Lapovo. Nevertheless, if you are arriving from the south of the country, train might be worth considering.

By car

Located in the center of the country, Kragujevac has good connection to highway E-75, leading to Belgrade and Niš. Parking is not a problem in the city.
 

Key places to visit
Sumarice, The circle of Prince Milos, The building of Grammar School (Gymnasium), Amidza’s Lodgings, The Old Church, The City Hall, The Prince Mihailo's Palace


Advertisement



Places to Visit

Sumarice

sumarice Memorial park dedicated to the memory of the victims of 21st October's shooting. All tombs in Memorial park are connected to 7 km long circular road. At the entrance of Memorial park, a monumental building of the Museum “21st October” is built in which architecture symbolic of Kragujevac’s tragedy is emphasized.

The circle of Prince Milos

cultural-historic complex, includes buildings that, with their architecture and function, maintain a historic image of the city, from the period when Kragujevac was the capital (1818-1841), until the beginning of 20th century.

The building of Grammar School (Gymnasium)

one of the most monumental school buildings built in Serbia in 19th century. It was built in 1887 and then the first grammar school in Serbia, found in 1833, got its building. It was built in academic style. The architect is unknown. During the WW2, on October 21st 1941, German soldiers took many of the school’s students and professors to the execution. One of the classrooms was turned into the Memorial classroom, dedicated to this tragic event.

Amidza’s Lodgings

The only one still preserved building from the complex of Miloš’ court and it is a part of the National museum. It got it’s name after the headmaster of the Prince’s court, Sima Milosavljević-Paštrmac called Amidža (uncle). Amidža’s Lodgings was built in 1818 and it represents Balcan-oriental style. The lodgings served as a dormitory for the young men from Miloš’s escort.

The Old Church

Built in 1818 by Prince Miloš Obrenović. The church is dedicated to the Descent of The Holy Spirit on Apostles. The first bell from this church rang in 1829. The old church was first bishop’s cathedral and court chapel in liberated Serbia. In the churchyard, almost all important decisions for the Serbian people were proclaimed. The First Serbian Constitution was adopted there in 1835.

The City Hall

Built in a typical socialistic architecture, the building might be very interesting to someone used to Western culture.

The Prince Mihailo’s Palace

Built in 1860. The building is European with one floor, built after the pattern of Austrian classicism, modest in it’s dimensions and ornaments. Directory of the National museum and museum’s library are now placed in it.

Right Time to Visit

Information not available

Temperature

Information not available


Advertisement



View Map