Member / Vendor Login



Kiev

Country
Ukraine
State
Gorod-Geroy Kiyev
City
Kiev
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Advertisement



Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Air

Air passengers arrive in Kiev through one of two airports: the Boryspil Airport which is served by many international airlines, and the smaller Zhulyany Airport, serving mostly domestic flights and limited flights to nearby countries.The international passenger terminal at Boryspil is small, yet modern, being expanded in 2006.There is a separate terminal for domestic flights within walking distance.Passengers flying to other countries from Ukraine usually travel through Boryspil, as other airports in Ukraine such as Donetsk,Simferopol,Odessa, provide very limited international connections.There is also Gostomel cargo airport in Kiev's north-western suburb of Hostomel.

By Train

Railways are Kiev’s main mode of intercity transportation.The city has a developed railroad infrastructure including a long-distance passenger station, 6 cargo stations, depots,and repairing facilities.However, this system still fails to meet the demand for passenger service.Particularly, the Kiev Passenger Railway Station is the city's only long-distance passenger terminal (vokzal).Construction is underway for turning the large Darnytsia Railway Station on the left-bank part of Kiev into a long-distance passenger hub, which may ease traffic at the central station.Bridges over the Dnieper River are another problem restricting the development of city’s railway system.Presently, only one rail bridge out of two is available for intense train traffic. A new combined rail-auto bridge is under construction, as a part of Darnytsia project.

By Road

Kiev roads are in poor technical condition and road maintenance is poor. According to the Kyivavtodor municipal road corporation 80% of the road surfaces in Kiev have been in use for 15 to 30 years, which is from 1.5 to 3 times more than the standard period (12 years).

Key places to visit
St. Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery, Museum of the Great Patriotic War, Kiev Fortress, Vydubychi Monastery, Castle of Richard the Lionheart, Dnieper River, National Art Museum, Golden Gate


Advertisement


Places to Visit

St. Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery

Is a functioning monastery in Kiev, Ukraine.The monastery is located on the Western side of the Dnieper River on the edge of a bluff northeast of the St. Sophia Cathedral.The site is located in the historic and administrative Uppertown and overlooks the city's historical commercial and merchant quarter, the Podil neighbourhood.Originally built in the Middle Ages by Sviatopolk II Iziaslavych,the monastery comprises the Cathedral itself,the refectory of St. John the Divine, built in 1713,the Economic Gates,constructed in 1760 and the monastery's bell tower, which was added circa 1716–1719. The exterior of the structure was rebuilt in the Ukrainian Baroque style in the 18th century while the interior remained in its original Byzantine style.

Museum of the Great Patriotic War

Is a memorial complex commemorating the German-Soviet War located in the southern outskirts of the Pechersk district of Kiev, the capital of Ukraine, on the picturesque hills on the right-bank of the Dnieper River.The museum has moved two times before ending up in the current location where it was ceremonially opened on May 9 (the Victory Day), 1981, by then Soviet leader Leonid Brezhnev. On June 21, 1996, the museum was accorded its current status of the National Museum by the special decree signed by Leonid Kuchma, then the President of Ukraine.It is one of the largest museums in Ukraine (over 300 thousand exhibits) centered around the now famous 62-meter tall Motherland statue, which has become one of the best recognized landmarks of Kiev. The museum has been attended by over 21 million visitors.

Kiev Fortress

Also known as the Pechersk Fortress, is a generic name for the 19th century fortification buildings situated in the Ukrainian capital Kiev, that once belonged to a system of western Russian fortresses. These structures (once a united complex) were built in the Pechersk and neighbourhoods by the Russian army. Now some of the buildings are restored and turned into a museum called the Kiev Fortress, while others are in use by various military and commercial installations.Having lost their military importance in the 20th century, the buildings continued to be used as barracks, storage and incarceration facilities. However, some of them played independent historical roles. The Kosyi Kaponir ("Skew Caponier") became a prison for the political inmates in the 1900s–1920s and was later turned into a Soviet museum. Now it is the center of the modern museum. A small fortress built in 1872 on the legendary Lysa Hora ("Bald Mountain") in 1906 became a place of executions for convicted political inmates. It is now a landscape reserve and part of the museum complex.

Vydubychi Monastery

The monastery was established between 1070 and 1077 by Vsevolod, son of Yaroslav the Wise. It was a family cloister of Vsevolod's son Vladimir Monomakh and his descendants.The legend has it that Vladimir ordered the wooden figures of Perun (the Thunder God) and other pagan gods dumped into the Dnieper River during the mass Baptism of Kiev.The disheartened Kievans, though accepting the baptism, ran along the Dnieper River calling for the old gods to emerge from water. Accordingly, the area down the river stream where Perun emerged was named Vydubichu or Vydubychi in modern Ukrainian.

Golden Gate

Is a major landmark of the Ancient Kiev and historic gateway in the ancient city fortress, located in the capital of Ukraine. Currently it serves as a museum and can be found on the corner of Volodymyr street and Yaroslaviv Val Street (Yaroslav's Moat). The name Zoloti Vorota is also used for a nearby theatre and a station of the Kiev Metro.The modern history states that this gateway was one of three constructed by Yaroslav the Wise, Grand Prince of Kiev, in 1037 (6545 by the Byzantine calendar) about when the Saint Sophia Cathedral was erected. However some sources claim that the gates stood some time before that like for example the painting of Jan Matejko where he depicts both Bolelaw Chrobry and Sviatopolk I entering the city during the Kiev succession crisis in 1018. This version currently is being considered as a legend. Originally named as simply the Southern gates they were one of the three main gates of the city fortification with other being called: Lechitic and Jewish.

Right Time to Visit

Information not available

Temperature