Member / Vendor Login



Gualeguaychu

Country
Argentina
State
Entre Rios
City
Gualeguaychu
Type of Location
Multiple
About Location

Advertisement



Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Air

The city has an airport with paved runway and navigation controls provided by the Air Force Argentina, strategically located at the edge of Route 14, at the entrance of the city and opposite the Industrial Park Gualeguaychu.

By Ferry

With respect to the Port of Gualeguaychu, on the homonymous river, allows shallow draft operations, with 10 feet of water to the mouth of the Rio Uruguay, distant 22 km to the south. By road you can access the Port of Fray Bentos a distance of 40 km, with a depth of 22 feet and 110 kilometers from Nueva Palmira (ROU) which is an important port for overseas.

By Bus

The bus terminal (440688; Jurado & Artigas) is 3km southwest of the plaza.For AR$1 infrequent buses routes 2 and 3 stop on Artigas across from the terminal and take circuitous routes to the town center.For AR$7 a remise will drop you anywhere downtown.

Key places to visit
Gualeguaychu Carnival, Unzue Park, Cathedral Church of St. Joseph, Clavarino Palace, Gualeguaychu Theatre, House of Aedo Museum


Advertisement


Places to Visit

Gualeguaychu Carnival

is a float-parade that takes part in the corsodromo a place specially designed for this event, every Saturday of January, February and the 1st Saturday of March.It has an audience of about 40,000 people each night.The Carnival has five comparsas (a group of people that represents a club or a social centre) which are called Mari–Mari, Papelitos, Ara-Yevi, Kamar and O’Bahia.These comparsas compete against each other for a prize which consists of 31% of the money earned by the tickets however only three of them participate on any year.Approximately US$350,000 is spent by each comparsa.In 2011, the winner was Mari–Mari with the topic, Fobo.

Unzue Park

One of Gualeguaychu’s most impressive features is Unzue Park, which is located on the opposing banks of the Gualeguaychu river.It is about 120 hectares in size and includes a lagoon.

Cathedral Church of St. Joseph

The cornerstone of the Cathedral Church of St. Joseph, under the patronage of the Virgin of Rosario and St. Joseph, was laid May 30, 1863.Godfather ceremony was the Governor of Entre Rios, Justo Jose de Urquiza, who attended the ceremony with his wife Dolores Costa.The project was the work of Swiss architect Bernard Poncini and building was overseen by him and his brother, Roberto.The work was delayed but inauguration took place on March 19, 1890. By 1910 the towers and porch were completed.In 1959 due to a danger of collapse, the towers were demolished and replaced by the current domes.

Clavarino Palace

where the activities take place in the Middle Level and Polimodal College Luis Clavarino was founded on October 21, 1905.Mendez Casariego Bridge crosses the Gualeguaychu river to the Park Unzue and Pueblo General Belgrano and the nature reserve "Las Piedras".The bridge was repaired in late 2007 because there was a danger of collapse.

Gualeguaychu Theatre

The theatre was founded in August 23, 1910 by Gustavo de Denken, Jose Casaretto, Bartolome Raggio, Julian Irazusta, Nicolas Medrano and Enrique Sobral.The style of the theatre was inspired the Viennese Secession.The interior, consisting of the Chamber, is in the shape of a floor horseshoe and is surrounded by a lower tier of boxes.The first level is a gathering area with corresponding boxes on the upper level and Paradise.This part was originally intended for lower social classes and used to have a separate entrance to Peron Street.

House of Aedo Museum

just off Plaza San Martin, is the municipal museum, occupying the oldest house in town (c 1800).It features mostly antique furniture and weaponry.A free guided tour in rapid-fire Spanish is available.Aedo is Gualeguaychu's oldest building.City founder Tomas de Rocamora built this home of typical colonial design in 1800-1801.One of his daughters married Jose Antonio Aedo, who then received the house.It remained in the family until 1986.During that century and a half, the Casa de Aedo saw many adventures, the greatest perhaps being when Giuseppe Garibaldi held the family captive while he and his troops sacked the city September 20-21, 1845.The house displays furnishings and other belongings of the Aedo family.

Right Time to Visit

January - May
August - December

Temperature