Member / Vendor Login


Type of Location
About Location


Places to Visit
How to Reach

By Train

Trains between Melbourne and Warrnambool stop at Colac. There are around 3 services a day.

By Bus

There are bus connections to the coastal towns of Lorne and Apollo Bay on the Great Ocean Road.

Key places to visit
Lake Colac, Barongarook Creek Walk, Lake Colac and Foreshore, Historic Town Walk, Historical Walk Continued


Places to Visit

Lake Colac

Lake Colac is a pretty view, shallow and reflective. It is the largest freshwater lake in Victoria. It is a good spot for birdwatching in the wetlands. The lake is currently suffering the effects of a long drought in the region.

Barongarook Creek Walk
On the other side of the highway to the information centre, and 100 metres to the east, is Lions Park which has barbecues, picnic tables, toilets and an information board. This is the start of a walking track which follows the eastern bank of the creek northwards, beneath archways and English trees, through the Colac Pergola Urban Forest Sanctuary, with its ducks and other waterbirds, to the Botanical Gardens and the Lake. The information centre has a pamphlet relating to this walk.

Lake Colac and Foreshore
Lake Colac is the largest natural freshwater lake in the state. It covers 1820 ha and has an average depth of 2.5 metres. There are several ramps, a jetty, barbecue facilities and boats for hire, together with a plenitude of waterbirds and many scenic spots on the shoreline. Boating, rowing, yachting, swimming, waterskiing, windsurfing and fishing for redfin can all be enjoyed. Ross Point, off Balnagowan Ave, is a popular fishing spot on the lake's shore. There are boat ramps at the yacht club (end of Hamilton St) and off Fyans St. Adjacent the latter, on the foreshore where Barongarook Creek meets Lake Colac, is a children's playground. A caravan park with camping facilities is located nearby. A bird sanctuary lies at the end of Church St.

Historic Town Walk
Start your walk at the tourist information centre. Walk east a short distance along to 8 Murray St East. This building, now a private residence, was built in 1874 and licensed in 1875 as the Prince of Wales Hotel.

Historical Walk Continued
Return along Gellibrand St and turn left, back into Murray St. At no.126 are Norwich Chambers (1883) and at no.144 are J.G. Johnstone's offices (1902).

Right Time to Visit

January - March
October - December